Located about 3 kilometers from the town, along the road to San Vito di Calamandrana, San Massimo is a charming parish church isolated on a hilltop on the border between Cassinasco and Rocchetta Palafea.
It was originally the site chapel of Soriano, an ancient village with its castle granted in 1116 by the Emperor to the Bishop of Acqui.
The village disappeared in the mid-14th century, perhaps annihilated by the plague of 1348, and of the primitive church only the rear part of the building remains.
Comune di Cassinasco
BeWeb - Beni Ecclesiastici in WEB