The foundations of Montaldo Scarampi Castle were found during the excavations carried out in Piazza Romita in 1928. It is estimated that the fortress was built between 700 and 740. Today only a small part of the walls remains more visible.
• The history of the building (written by Anna Mainardi Scarampi)
The copy of a map of 1764 shows us the plan of the castle of Montaldo Scarampi and the walls surrounding the village at the top of the hill (Montis altus).
The “Fence” was the name that included the whole territory within the walls. On the north-west side, inside the walls there was a church, dedicated to S. Nicolò, then called dei Battuti ('Bati').
Behind the church and bordering the walls was the cemetery.
The castle suffered a fire at the end of 1700 (according to the testimony of De Canis) and little by little everything was ruined.
The bricks and recoverable materials were used to build new houses and nothing remained to testify to such great power.
Unique preserved, the church. It was already deconsecrated when in 1923 it was made suitable to welcome the Kindergarten.
Today the rooms of the former kindergarten house the Peasant Family Museum, where important testimonies of the rural life of the past are on display.